Affiliate disclosure: three links on this page earn me a commission (Dunbar Academy, Brain Training for Dogs and SpiritDog Training). The other four pay me nothing. Every course is labeled, and the order follows the checks explained below, not commissions.
⚡ Honest Pick HQHonest reviews, no hype
Updated September 29, 2026 · By Silvia Dalto · Research-based comparison

Best Online Dog Training Courses for Dog Owners (2026): 7 Compared, Credentials Checked

I compared seven online dog training courses the way a careful owner would: I checked who created each one and whether that credential can be verified, wrote down every price with the date I saw it, read the refund terms, and matched each course to the kind of dog it says it's for. I haven't taken all seven courses with a dog, and I'll tell you exactly what I could and couldn't confirm.

Find the right course for your dog ↓
German Shepherd puppy sitting and looking up, ready for an online dog training session
Illustrative photo, not my dog: Kate Andreeshcheva / Pexels.
Prices dated Sep 28, 2026 Creator credentials checked with links Every paid link labeled No course paid for its place

Quick Answer: What Is the Best Online Dog Training Course?

What is the best online dog training course?

It depends on your dog. For a new puppy, Dunbar Academy has the most verifiable creator. For a bored, energetic dog on a one-time budget, Brain Training for Dogs costs $67 (checked Sep 28, 2026). For zero budget, start with Instinct's free courses. For aggression, see a professional first.

My top 3, in short:

  1. Dunbar Academy (6/6 checks): best for new puppies, from a veterinarian who helped popularize reward-based puppy classes.
  2. Brain Training for Dogs (5/6 checks): best one-time price, built around mental games.
  3. SpiritDog Training (5/6 checks): best for working on one problem at a time, from $9 per course.

No budget at all? Instinct Dog Training Online School (4/6 checks) is the best free option I found, and it pays me nothing.

Which Course for Which Dog? (Comparison Table)

Find your dog in the left column. The pick is based on what each course says it covers and on the checks in the next section, not on a test with my own dog.

Swipe sideways to see all columns →

Your dog / your situationLook at firstAlso considerNote
New puppy (house training, nipping, basics)Dunbar AcademyBrain Training for Dogs (has a puppy section)Ask your vet about age and vaccines before group outings
Bored, high-energy dog; chewing, digging, not listeningBrain Training for DogsAbsolute Dogs (games)Mental games are the course's premise, not a guaranteed fix
Pulls on the leash, mild barking or lungingSpiritDog TrainingInstinct (leash reactivity course)Strong reactivity: see when a course is not enough
You want a real person to coach youBaxter & Bella (says it offers unlimited live support)Instinct (free live Zoom seminars)Baxter & Bella's price isn't public; ask before paying
Zero budgetInstinct free coursesDunbar free courses; K9TI free workshop (leads to a paid offer)Start free, pay later if you need structure
Bites, growls, severe fear or panics when aloneNo course aloneYour vet, then a veterinary behaviorist or IAABC consultantA course can support a professional plan, not replace it

How I Compared These Courses (6 Checks You Can Repeat)

I don't give star ratings to courses I haven't taken with a dog. Instead, each course gets six yes/no checks that anyone can repeat. The ranking follows the number of checks I could confirm on September 28 and 29, 2026. It measures how transparent a course is, not how well it will work for your dog.

  1. Verifiable creator: the lead trainer's credential can be checked in an independent directory or source.
  2. Reward-based method stated: the course says it uses reward-based training, the approach the American Veterinary Society of Animal Behavior recommends in its 2021 position statement on humane dog training.
  3. Public price: you can see a price before handing over your email.
  4. Written refund policy: the guarantee is stated on the official site.
  5. Human support: live sessions, a trainer answering questions, or a members' group.
  6. Free way to try: free lessons, free courses or a free workshop.

Swipe sideways to see all six checks →

CourseChecks1 Creator2 Method3 Price4 Refund5 Human6 Free
Dunbar Academy6/6YesYesYesYesYesYes
Brain Training for Dogs5/6YesYesYesYesYesNo
SpiritDog Training5/6Not verifiedYesYesYesYesYes
Instinct Online School4/6Not namedYesYesNot foundYesYes
Baxter & Bella4/6Not verifiedYesHiddenYesYesYes
Absolute Dogs3/6Not foundYesYesNot foundNot confirmedYes
K9 Training Institute1/6Not verifiedNot foundAfter workshopNot foundNot confirmedYes

"Not found" means I couldn't find it on the pages I read on September 28 and 29, 2026. It doesn't mean the course lacks it. Brain Training for Dogs and SpiritDog tie at 5/6. I list Brain Training first because its creator's credential checks out in the CCPDT directory, and SpiritDog's didn't. Instinct and Baxter & Bella tie at 4/6. I list Instinct first because all of its self-paced courses are free, per its online school FAQ, then Baxter & Bella, whose membership price I couldn't see.

The 7 Best Online Dog Training Courses, Reviewed

1. Dunbar Academy: Best for New Puppies

Checks: 6/6

Dunbar Academy is the online school of Dr. Ian Dunbar, a veterinarian (Royal Veterinary College, London) with a PhD in animal behavior from UC Berkeley, who founded the Association of Pet Dog Trainers and started the first off-leash puppy classes in 1982, according to his Wikipedia biography. The site says plainly: "We use rewards to reinforce good behavior."

Price (Sep 28, 2026)Top Dog Academy $20/month; annual plan listed as saving $90; single courses $97 to $500
Refund30 days, "100% Satisfaction Guaranteed"
Human supportPrivate Facebook group for members
Free optionA collection of free courses for owners

Good fit: new puppies, first-time owners, anyone who wants to learn from one of the pioneers of reward-based puppy training (per the Wikipedia biography above). Skip if: you dislike subscriptions (it renews automatically) or you want a trainer watching your dog live.

Dunbar Academy free puppy training course card showing three cartoon puppies looking at a laptop
Official image from Dunbar Academy's free puppy training course page.
See Dunbar Academy →

Affiliate link: I earn a commission

2. Brain Training for Dogs: Best One-Time Price for Bored, Energetic Dogs

Checks: 5/6

Brain Training for Dogs is Adrienne Farricelli's course of mental games (cups, balls, ring stacking) plus obedience and a puppy section. She is listed as a CPDT-KA in the CCPDT directory, with a force-free approach. I gave it 3.8/5 in my full Brain Training for Dogs review.

Price (Sep 28, 2026)$67, one-time payment, no subscription
Refund60 days through ClickBank
Human supportMembers forum (as listed by the seller)
Free optionNone I could find

Good fit: bored or high-energy dogs, owners who prefer paying once. Skip if: your dog shows aggression or severe anxiety. The sales page overpromises fast fixes, which my review corrects line by line.

Brain Training for Dogs online course shown on laptop, tablet and box set
Check Brain Training for Dogs →

Affiliate link: I earn a commission

3. SpiritDog Training: Best for Working on One Problem at a Time

Checks: 5/6

SpiritDog sells single-topic courses (reactivity, calmness, puppy, obedience, potty training) plus an optional monthly academy. Its course list runs from $9 to $149 per course, and its homepage promises a "30-day money back guarantee on every course," mentions a "highly engaged community of trainers and course alumni," and offers a free 7-day course (all read Sep 28, 2026). Its FAQ says it teaches "with positive methods," and its About page calls the approach "Positive, game-based" (read Sep 29, 2026). I couldn't verify the lead trainer's credential in an independent directory. Its public course page also pushes $750 to $997 bundles, so start with a single course. I cover all of this in my full SpiritDog Training review.

Price (Sep 28, 2026)$9 to $149 per course (for example, potty training $9, "Calm Down" $49, recall bundle $97), per SpiritDog's affiliate course list
Refund30 days on every course
Human supportCommunity of trainers and course alumni, as stated by the seller
Free optionFree 7-day course

Good fit: owners who want to fix one thing at a time without a subscription. Skip if: you need a verified credential before you buy.

SpiritDog Training Perfect Focus Bundle banner with a golden puppy looking up
Official SpiritDog banner for its $750 Perfect Focus Bundle (Sep 2026). I suggest starting with a single course.
See SpiritDog courses →

Affiliate link: I earn a commission

4. Instinct Dog Training Online School: Best Free and Low-Cost Option

Checks: 4/6

Instinct is a US dog training company with in-person locations in cities like New York, Philadelphia, Nashville, Portland and San Diego. Its online school offers free and low-cost self-paced courses (leash reactivity, impulse control, dog and kid safety) and free live Zoom seminars several times a month. It describes its methods as positive reinforcement-based, and says its team includes certified behavior consultants and board-certified veterinary behaviorists, though the pages I read didn't name them.

Price (Sep 28, 2026)Many courses free; paid course prices not shown on the pages I read
RefundNot stated on the pages I read
Human supportFree live Zoom seminars
Free optionYes, free courses

Good fit: tight budgets, leash reactivity basics, families with kids. Skip if: you want one long, structured program. It pays me nothing, and it's where I'd start if money is tight.

See Instinct's online school →

No commission: I earn nothing from this link

5. Baxter & Bella: Best If You Want a Live Human to Help

Checks: 4/6

Baxter & Bella sells a lifetime membership with step-by-step programs, games, printable charts and what it calls "live help from professional trainers," with "unlimited professional support." It also offers free resources, including a free intro puppy class on Zoom, a podcast and guides. Its About page introduces trainer Amy Jensen as a Certified Dog Trainer (CCDT) through CATCH, a Fear Free Certified Professional and an APDT and IAABC member, and describes its approach as "force-free, science-based training, centered on proven positive reinforcement principles." I couldn't check her credential in an independent directory or see the membership price, so it ties with Instinct instead of beating it.

PriceNot public on the pages I read; check current price
RefundFull refund within 72 hours; after that, a written request up to 30 days with a deduction (its refund policy, Sep 28, 2026)
Human supportLive help, as stated by the seller
Free optionFree intro puppy class and guides

Good fit: owners who want to ask a person questions over time. Skip if: you want to know the price before you commit.

See Baxter & Bella →

No commission: I earn nothing from this link

6. Absolute Dogs: Best for Game-Based Training (Read the Promises Carefully)

Checks: 3/6

Absolute Dogs teaches through games and offers free ebooks, individual courses and a membership club called Games Club. Its course titles promise fast results, like "10 Days to Stop Separation Anxiety." Those are the seller's titles, not measured outcomes, and separation anxiety usually needs your vet's input. Its homepage describes its training as "innovative, positive, real-life, results-driven" (read Sep 29, 2026). The founders weren't named on the homepage I read.

Price (Sep 28, 2026)£27 per "10 Days" course; Games Club 7-day trial for £1, then renews at £35/month (its store; priced in British pounds)
RefundNot found on the pages I read
Human supportNot confirmed
Free optionFree ebooks

Good fit: owners who enjoy play-based training. Skip if: you're dealing with real separation anxiety; start with your vet.

See Absolute Dogs →

No commission: I earn nothing from this link

7. K9 Training Institute: Free Workshop, Proceed With Care

Checks: 1/6

K9 Training Institute's homepage promotes a free online workshop presented by "Dr. Alexa Diaz, Ph.D," described as having more than 20 years of experience training service dogs. The price of the paid program only appears after the workshop, and I couldn't verify the credential independently. K9TI also runs an affiliate program that pays other websites for referrals. I'm not in it, so keep that in mind when you see it ranked first elsewhere.

PriceRevealed after the free workshop
RefundNot found on the pages I read
Human supportNot confirmed
Free optionFree workshop

Good fit: curious owners who want to watch a free session first. Skip if: you don't want a sales pitch at the end of a free class.

See K9 Training Institute →

No commission: I earn nothing from this link

Happy dog sitting and looking up at an owner holding a red training clicker
Every course here teaches you, not your dog. The dog learns from what you practice between lessons. Illustrative photo: Ellen Levy Finch / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0.

What One Year Really Costs: One-Time vs Subscription

This is where most lists go quiet. A $20 monthly plan and a $67 one-time course look close, but they aren't over a year. Only prices I saw myself are shown, with the date.

Swipe sideways to see the 12-month cost →

CourseHow you payPrice checked Sep 28, 2026Cost over 12 months
Brain Training for DogsOne-time$67$67
Dunbar Academy (Top Dog Academy)Monthly, renews automatically$20/month$240 on monthly billing; the annual plan is listed as saving $90
SpiritDog TrainingPer course; optional monthly academy$9 to $149 per courseDepends on how many courses you buy
Instinct Online SchoolMany courses free; some paidFree courses: $0$0 if you stay with free courses
Baxter & BellaLifetime membershipCheck current priceNot public
Absolute DogsPer course; optional Games Club membership£27 per "10 Days" course; Games Club trial £1 for 7 days, then £35/monthDepends on courses bought; Games Club would be £420 a year if kept all 12 months; paid in British pounds
K9 Training InstitutePaid offer after a free workshopCheck current priceNot public before the workshop

How does that compare with a private trainer? Trainers charge per session, and prices vary a lot by city, so get a local quote and do the math for the number of sessions you'd need. A trainer can watch your dog live, which no course can.

Refunds: How Long You Have With Each Course

CourseRefund windowWhere it's stated
Brain Training for Dogs60 daysClickBank order page; request through clkbank.com
Dunbar Academy30 daysDunbar Academy homepage
SpiritDog Training30 daysSpiritDog homepage
Baxter & BellaFull refund within 72 hours; up to 30 days by written request, with a deductionBaxter & Bella refund policy page
Instinct, Absolute Dogs, K9TINot stated on the pages I readCheck before buying

A simple habit: the day you buy, set a phone reminder one week before the refund window closes. That gives you time to decide calmly instead of on the last day.

Do Online Dog Training Courses Work?

Do online dog training courses work?

They can for everyday goals like puppy basics, manners and mild problems, if you practice consistently, because a course teaches you and you train the dog. No independent study has compared these specific courses. For aggression, biting or severe anxiety, start with your veterinarian and a qualified behavior professional instead.

What research does support is about method, not about any course. The AVSAB's 2021 position statement recommends reward-based training and warns that aversive methods carry risks for a dog's welfare. That's why "method stated" is one of my six checks. Nobody has measured these seven courses against each other, including me.

When an Online Course Is Not Enough

Skip the course, or use it only alongside a professional, if your dog:
  • bites or has tried to bite a person or another animal
  • growls, snaps or freezes when touched, handled or near food
  • panics when left alone (howling, destroying doors, injuring itself)
  • shows sudden behavior changes, which can be a sign of pain or illness
Start with your veterinarian to rule out medical causes. Then look for a board-certified veterinary behaviorist through the American College of Veterinary Behaviorists, or a certified behavior consultant through the IAABC. For everyday training, the CCPDT directory lists certified trainers near you.

Courses I Looked at but Didn't Include

McCann Dogs, Pupford, Fenzi Dog Sports Academy and Karen Pryor's owner courses came up in my research. I left them out because I couldn't confirm their prices and terms today, not because they're bad. Karen Pryor Academy and Penn Foster also appear in search results, but they're programs for people who want to become trainers, not for owners.

Relaxed Boston terrier lying on a blanket with a pink chew toy
Pick the course that fits your dog today. You can always add another one later. Illustrative photo: Sendai Blog / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0.

My Picks, in One Line Each

New puppy: Dunbar Academy, from the veterinarian behind the first off-leash puppy classes.
See Dunbar Academy →

Affiliate link: I earn a commission

Bored, energetic dog, pay once: Brain Training for Dogs, $67 with 60 days to change your mind.
Check Brain Training for Dogs →

Affiliate link: I earn a commission

One problem at a time: SpiritDog Training, single-topic courses with a 30-day guarantee.
See SpiritDog courses →

Affiliate link: I earn a commission

Zero budget: Instinct's free courses and free live seminars.
See Instinct's free courses →

No commission

Best Online Dog Training Courses: FAQ

Do online dog training courses work?

They can for everyday goals like puppy basics, manners and mild problems, if you practice consistently, because a course teaches you and you train the dog. No independent study has compared these specific courses. For aggression, biting or severe anxiety, start with your veterinarian and a qualified behavior professional.

What is the best free online dog training program?

Of the seven courses here, Instinct Dog Training's online school is the best free option I found: it lists free courses and free live Zoom seminars, Dunbar Academy offers a collection of free courses, and K9 Training Institute runs a free workshop that leads into a paid offer. Try a free option before you pay for anything.

Which online dog training certification is the best?

That question is about becoming a trainer, and this guide is for owners. For you, what matters is the course creator's credential. The CCPDT, an independent certifying body, keeps a public directory where you can check a CPDT-KA. I don't rank trainer-certification programs like Karen Pryor Academy or Penn Foster.

What is the 3-3-3 rule for dog training?

It's a rule of thumb shelters use for newly adopted dogs: about 3 days to decompress, 3 weeks to learn your routine, and 3 months to feel at home. Every dog is different, so treat it as a rough guide rather than a deadline, and keep early training sessions short and gentle.

Are online dog training courses worth the money?

They're worth considering when the price is clear, the refund window is real, and the creator uses reward-based methods. Check whether you pay once or monthly, since subscriptions renew automatically. A private trainer can watch your dog live, which a course can't, and that matters for serious behavior problems.

Can an online course help a reactive or aggressive dog?

Mild leash reactivity is a common course topic, but aggression, biting and severe fear are different. Ask your veterinarian first to rule out pain or illness, then look for a veterinary behaviorist (DACVB) or a certified behavior consultant (IAABC). A course can support that plan but not replace it.

What is the best online dog training app?

I didn't compare apps in this guide, so I won't name a winner. The same checks apply to any app: a named trainer whose credential you can verify, a reward-based method, a clear price with renewal terms, and an easy way to cancel before you pay for a full year.

Which links on this page earn a commission?

Three: Dunbar Academy, Brain Training for Dogs, through ClickBank, and SpiritDog Training. Dunbar Academy was already in first place before its affiliate program approved me. Baxter & Bella, Instinct, Absolute Dogs and K9 Training Institute pay me nothing. The order follows the six published checks, not commissions.

Source for the 3-3-3 rule: Humane Society of the Pikes Peak Region.

Silvia Dalto, author of this comparison of online dog training courses

Written by Silvia Dalto

Who I am: I'm an architect and landscape designer, and I write about homes and everyday well-being at biofilianolar.com. Years ago I trained a German Shepherd with reward-based games, the same kind of method most courses on this list teach. I've just welcomed a new German Shepherd puppy and I'm starting her training now, in a home I share with two cats. I'm not a dog trainer or a veterinarian, and nothing here is veterinary advice.

How this comparison was made: I haven't taken all seven courses with a dog, and I say so. On September 28 and 29, 2026 I read each official site, checked creators' credentials in public directories or independent sources, wrote down prices and refund terms with the date, and compared what each course says it covers. Anything I couldn't confirm is marked. For a deeper look at one course, read my Brain Training for Dogs review.

Affiliate disclosure: Dunbar Academy, Brain Training for Dogs and SpiritDog Training links earn me a commission at no extra cost to you. The other links don't. Commissions never change the order or what I write. Last updated: September 29, 2026.

Which course fits my dog? See the table ↑